top of page
Search
  • mirandaricci58

My Research Story

10.29.2022


The Motivation Behind My Research


I am studying how first-generation, low-income, diverse and/or historically underrepresented students perceive their experiences while pursuing graduate school. To simplify things, I will use the acronym FGLIHU to represent this population.

 


 

Why would I choose this population to invest two years of my life researching to better understand?


To fully understand this question, you'll have to understand my background. I am a first-generation, low-income college student. However, these words go much deeper than their definitions, but let's start there.


To be considered low-income, you or your families income must not exceed 150% of the federal poverty level. In my experience, low-income meant getting a job at 14, paying bills to help my single mother, buying my own groceries, and sometimes, not having electric, heat, WIFI, and many of the things we all take for granted.


I see beyond the definition because I have lived beyond the definition.


I know the realities of these defining identities and I know the barriers that persist for students who identify as FGLIHU. Specifically, the barriers that persist within the American education system which are especially difficult to overcome because of their systematic nature. There are many intersecting factors that influence degree completion or even the ability to begin the education process. Students who manage to persevere, particularly those who pursue a graduate degree are withstanding insurmountable odds in favor of bettering their futures.


These students' experiences are worth highlighting in hopes of aiding future students pursuits.


Through my research, and future research, we as a collective can advance our understanding of how the barriers impact students and continue to alleviate the struggle they face. Specific to my research, I found many similarities that FGLIHU students face in their pursuit of graduate school.

 

I interviewed 11 students who have, or are, pursuing a graduate degree.


The majority of the individuals I had the pleasure of speaking with told heartwarming stories of finding faculty within their university who aided in their journey. They assisted with things such as picking classes, locating on-campus opportunities, finding, and applying to the right graduate schools. Some of the individuals I spoke with who had finished their undergrad still maintained contact with the faculty they had become close with. These relationships showed a positive impact on the students educational and personal experiences, which ultimately aided their pursuit of graduate school.


An additional theme that emerged related to relationships with immediate family.


While many spoke of their parents excitement towards their pursuit of education, their understanding of what it meant was incredibly limited. One participant recalled as related to the support their family provided, "They were sort of indifferent, they didn't care too much. They were excited, but I think they just heard PH.D. and were thrilled". While the excitement aids in the pursuit, the limited understanding that first-generation students' families hold can color the lens through which they view their education. If your family doesn't see value in the journey you are on, it may influence your motivation towards the end goal.

 

Overall, many of the themes support what current programming, such as the Ronald E. McNair Post-baccalaureate Program does to support FGLIHU students. Getting students to develop positive faculty relationships, complete research in an undergraduate setting, and providing information and guidance a student may be lacking in family relationships are some of the ways we have been able to transverse the educational barriers that exist. The experiences captured within my research provide further insight into the motivation behind FGLIHU students, and supports the work being done by National TRIO programs.


There is always more work to be done, but we are moving in the right direction to better support students from these backgrounds.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Want to contact me personally?

Add your email, or email me directly @ ricciml2382@uwec.edu

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page