top of page
Search
  • mirandaricci58

Research Progress

05.06.2022


This year has been packed with research planning, grant writing, and some fun. Finally, I got an update I’d been waiting for since February.

 
Through the planning process, my mentor and I have developed a solid plan.

I have dedicated time to finish the IRB application, complete the literature review, conduct interviews, as well as transcribe and analyze them. I’m incredibly excited about this process and having a plan in place has alleviated a lot of anxiety regarding doing research this summer.


The news that I had been waiting for finally came.

I received an email from the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP) two weeks ago and received confirmation from the application I submitted in February. I now have full ORSP and McNair funding for conducting research this summer. I will be able to travel to different institutions to conduct in-person interviews. I also am able to buy a qualitative research book to further my understanding and support myself through the research the summer.

 


 

Things are finally coming together. I am feeling positive and looking forward to the next steps. Research changes as you progress, which has proven to be true for my project. Not only has my research question, population, and method shifted throughout the planning process, my research team has as well.


I am appreciative of the way everything is working out.

My current mentor, Dr. Nicole Schultz and I will be accompanied by Dr. Kelly Wonder in assisting with this research. While I am the principal investigator, this is my first time conducting research. The knowledge and understanding that both of these wonderful people bring to this project is already valuable in creating a successful and meaningful project.


The decision to include her seemed natural. Dr. Wonder, as the McNair Director, was already assisting my project. I had been consistently asking her questions and reaching out for support. She had offered to help over the summer with coding and analysis of the data, and when completing the IRB application, I realized she should be included. I asked both her and Dr. Schultz if this was okay, and of course, they were both happy to do so.


I feel beyond blessed to have a strong support network.

I am looking forward to working with both of them and expanding my knowledge through the process. While many things are unknown, I am grateful I have people who are willing to support me and the research I am doing. Not only have I had wonderful support from individuals, the McNair program as an organization has supported me and encouraged me immensely. In April, I received the McNair Newcomer Award and was highlighted in UW-Eau Claire's TRIO Day program.


If there’s one thing the last month has taught me, it would be to believe in myself and my research. It is important, it will be successful, and I am capable of doing it. Asking for help is not a negative thing, and honestly, it is the only way to truly be successful when conducting research.


 


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Want to contact me personally?

Add your email, or email me directly @ ricciml2382@uwec.edu

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page